Managing patient records

Another tool for managing your clinic’s historical data.

How to recover a deleted patient record

When deleting patients, you may find that you wish to recover a deleted patient record from time to time. This tutorial will show you the steps to recover a patient record which has been deleted.

  1. First, go to Website Control > Record MGMT
  2. Next, click on the “Patient” tab.
  3. Click on “Clients removed” to open the recovery section if it is not already open. Here you will see a list of patients that you have deleted from your patient profiles.
  4. Finally, locate the patient record that you wish to recover from the list.
  5. Click on the “Recover” icon located on the far left of the row. This action will recover the patient record by removing it from the “Client Removed” list and return it to the patient profile area for day to day use.

NOTE: Clicking on the red square icon (far right of the row) will permanently delete a removed record from your system. Be very cautious when permanently removing records.

How to merge patient records

When you are entering a new patient into the system it checks for duplicate names and warns you that you may already have a profile for this client. However, you may find that occasionally you have more than one record for the same client (possibly using a different spelling or nick name). When this occurs, you may wish to merge the two records together consolidating all the appointment, billing, SOAP and contact information into one patient record. To do this, follow these steps:

Note: Profile information from the patient number entered into the second box will dominate and survive the merge. For example: if both profiles have a home telephone number entered and each is different, the second on will be kept. However if the first profile has fields filled in that are empty in the second profile, the information form the first will be copied into the second.

  1. First, go to Website Control > Record MGMT
  2. Next, click on the “Patient” tab.
  3. If it is not already open, clicks on “Client Merge” to open the merge tool if it is not already open.
  4. Enter the client number of the profile that you wish to be merged (combined with the other and discarded) into the first dialog box.
  5. Enter the client number of the profile that you wish to survive the merge (this profile will remain in your records with the combined data) into the second dialog box.
  6. Now click “Next”. On the resulting page you will be presented with a summary (name, total appointments, upcoming appointments, invoices, and SOAP records) of the two patient profiles that will be merged.
  7. Click “Merge” to confirm your choices and complete the process. If you find that you do not want to complete the process simply navigate away from the page and the operation will not be completed.